Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 30, 2009, 3:34 PM   #1

Default Is the Panasonic TZ7 the best "camcorder" Digital camera?

Hi

Im after a compact digi cam, with great HD camcorder functions, with optical zoom.

I am a total auto man, leave it on auto and take pics, the stills I think will be fine for me, so Im after a really good camcorder function

I have a Mini DV camcorder but I never take it with me, and its to big.

So my thought now is to replace my current digi cam (Casio Exilim Z600), and get something like the TZ7 for my HD video and stills.

Ive done quite a bit hunting and the TZ7 looks to be the best, it must have optical zooming as this to me means its not a proper camcorder replacement (when I say this all I do is casual family trips/holidays/parties etc I am not a professional)

As Ive seen a few like the Canon SX200, but it doesnt do optical zooming on video, the Samsung WB550 is another one maybe, but doesnt seem to be as good? and a bit fatter than TZ7

Please can anyone comment/suggest on a camcorder alternative for me, as I say Im a casual user, so no DSLR etc.

cheers
MrMister111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 30, 2009, 7:19 PM   #2

well made the decision for myself! couldn't wait for answers from here!

I ordered the limited edition red version, not sure on it as never seen it in the flesh, hope its not too girly! or should I have played safe and went for the black version?

any comments?
Old May 30, 2009, 8:38 PM   #3

Hi MrMister111,

I've just "exchanged" my Sanyo Xacti HD700 for Lumix ZS3 (it's the same like TX7).
After 2 days it looks MUCH-MUCH better than Sanyo and I'm just happy.

FZKAP
FZKAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2009, 9:24 PM   #4

Just ordered this myself, should get it wed.--am really excited, but apprehensive, as it wasn't available locally for me to try out. Do you already have an appropriate memory card?