Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Aug 17, 2009, 10:16 AM   #1

Default "grainy" photos with my new zs3... please help.. am I nuts?

Let me start out that Im not a professional photographer, have only used canon sd point and shoots.. sd300, sd600, sd770is, and now purchased a zs3 3 weeks ago. Ive been shooting alot, and sometimes if there is a lot of light, I get good shots, but it seems that mostly I get somewhat grainy or "noisy" shots... indoors for sure, but also outside... I use auto mostly, and use ai also.... with my old canons, I just left it on auto and I dont feel that the canon really gave me alot of noise. Ive heard crazy reviews about this camera, so I jumped, so I figure Im doing something wrong. How can I attach a full size pic? Thanks in advance!
vbittnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2009, 10:24 AM   #2
Administrator

We prefer that you don't (attach a full size image). That makes it hard for forum readers to see replies in the thread (since they have to scroll left and right to read all of the text).

I'd post a downsized sample instead (one including the EXIF information), keeping it's longest side at around 640 to 800 pixels.

When I use Windows, I use the free Irfanview for downsizing images (but, most image editors can resize if you're using something else).

With this software, after you open an image, select "Image>Resize/Resample" and make the width around 640 to 800 pixels wide for posting. Leave the Preserve Aspect Ratio box checked. I use the Lanczos algorithm choice for resizing. After you click OK, use the "File>Save As" menu choice and give it a new filename. I'd set the Quality slider you see come up at around 80% to keep the file size within limits.
Make sure the box to "retain EXIF" you'll see when saving is checked.