Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 7, 2010, 1:06 PM   #1

Default New Panasonic FZ35 Owner

Hello all, I am the proud (and overwhelmingly confused) new owner of a new Panasonic FZ35 camera. I am just starting to get interested in photography and wanted a new and better camera. MY only other camera in my life has been an OLD Sony DSC-S75, although it served it's purpose and took pictures, it is extremely basic compared to the FZ35. My dad has a Sony DSC-F717 and my best friend a Sony DSC-F828, so I have extensive use and knowledge with SONY and ONLY Sony cameras. SO, not only am I the new owner of a FZ35, this is my very first Panasonic product ever. Even though the F717 and the F828 are great cameras, this FZ35 is leaps and bounds above them when it comes to scene selections and camera features. I'm so confused I don't know where to start. I hope everyone can put up with my newbie, uneducated and elementary questions.
Dirtbmw20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2010, 2:21 PM   #2

Try and read the many posts in the Forum. There is a lot of valuable information to be found here. The FZ38/35 is a great camera though you will need to experiment quite a bit to get the most out of it. Try to use the camera in specific scene modes as well as P or A mode – iA mode is not really this camera’s strength and is capable of superior output when you are able to make use of its extensive manual intervention. If you intend doing any outdoor activity with the camera, or macro photography, consider getting yourself a 46mm uv filter to protect from scratching or other damage. You would sure hate to ruin your Leica lens! These filters are not expensive.
You may also wish to play around with some of the adjustments too – i.e. I have found that the Saturation is vastly improved when increased to +1 : But these are all going to be personal preferences.