Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 11, 2010, 1:37 AM   #1

Default ZR1 -- White and purple streaks in pictures

Can anyone help me figure out what I did wrong? I was testing out the ZR1 in outdoor shots on a bright, sunny day -- the camera was in Intelligent Auto mode. Some of the pictures came out just fine, but one had a bright white streak in it, one had a purple streak in it, and one (the one of the bush) had a spot of blurry or lighter color in the middle of the proper color. I've attached the pictures below. What did I do wrong? How can I avoid this in the future (bearing in mind that I'm a complete newbie and I'm generally going to be shooting in Intelligent Auto mode until I can do some more learning)? Could I possibly have gotten a defective camera? Thanks for your patience, and for any insights!
Attached Images

opalmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2010, 8:18 AM   #2

It's called flaring...it happens when you are shooting into the sun or bright lights and can show up in the picture many different shapes and sizes....

Shoot with the Sun at your back or shade the camera and lens with something...you can see why they have lens hoods now?...

sometimes I like just a bit of flaring as it can make for a distinct picture...sometimes just changing the angle of the camera to the light source will avoid flaring or almost eliminate it too...

You have a beautiful yard...
LTZ470 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 11:10 AM   #3
Super Moderator

you will get flare with any camera when you are shooting directly into sun or bright lights. nothing defective, just physics.