Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 8, 2003, 4:13 PM   #1

Default Need advice on use of filters with DMC-FZ10

Hello,

I'm an amateur photographer and just got my Panasonic DMC-FZ10. A friend recommended the Tiffen 72mm Photo Essentials Filter Kit (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...ce&s=photo).

The kit consists of UV protector, Circular polarizer and 812 color warming filter. All of them seem very useful for the kind of photographs I want to take, but the FZ10 also contains some menu settings to change the colour effect (Cool/Warm/BW), brightness, contrast, etc.

My question: The UV filter could double as lens protector so is still useful. But are the 812 color warming filter or the circular polarizer filter necessary? Could they bring any other benefits (say, when compared to the digital warming done by the FZ10)?

Thanks!
ML
mungerilal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2003, 4:23 PM   #2

you don't need all theses filters !
just buy the the polarized filter !
flysurfing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2003, 8:52 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by flysurfing
you don't need all theses filters !
just buy the the polarized filter !
You'll want the UV filter to protect the lens. If you scratch the filter, it will cost you less than $5 to replace it. If you scratch the lens... well, let's just say it will cost more than $5.
PrmseKpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2003, 12:07 AM   #4