Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 22, 2010, 12:55 PM   #1

Default New Panasonic FZ38 User (beginner questions)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and have to say that I was so impressed by all the running topics here, and the activity, that I felt like joining the club, hope to improve my knowledge of cameras, taking better photos, and of course, gain friends over here .

I recently went to Italy (holidays), and my old Nikon camera (an oldy, S200) has been ressurected after it was one day dead. It suddenly worked again, and sometimes it gave corrupted images, and the quality is nothing close to where I want it. So, I decided to buy a new camera, and received the Panasonic FZ38 yesterday. (I was choosing between the Canon SX 20 IS and this one)

I'm a very beginner when it comes to taking photos and working with anything like all the settings available. I know a few basics, read the manual, and have been reading this forum all day long, whilst trying a few things. I have a Tripod as well, and my next purchase will be a UV filter.

Another reason I joined is to ask a few questions, and hope that the readers of this topic aren't too tired yet after reading my story, to answer them, or give me advice . I just hope I'm not asking too much.

First of all, I read a lot about 'metering mode' and the 'spot focus'. Can anyone summarize what their relationship is, or explain in beginners words what the metering mode exactly is? (I read the wiki page) As for the FZ38, is 'spot focus' the option where you set the AF Mode to Spot?