Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Sep 9, 2010, 6:11 AM   #1

Default Low Light gig/bar photos

Hello, new member here. I had the FZ100 for about a week or two now. I am still learning how to use the FZ100 and on top of that I am pretty much a beginner at photography.

My husband is a musician so I took the camera out last week to take some photos and videos at night. The lighting on the bar's patio was less than desirable. Some colored lights hidden behind the speakers to the right + very distracting streetlights in the background. That's all. It took me a while to find the perfect setting. I wanted to get the colorful lights on stage but getting those meant less/no flash, which was pretty much impossible without the motion blur.

I finally settled on a few basic settings.
1. iA with Flash. Those came out with a golden tint and slight motion blur.
2. Panning with Flash
3. P F3.2, 1/30, EV+1, 400 ISO
4. I also experimented with another setting that showed up as a Nightscene icon with a small i in its corner. I need to figure out how I got that setting. It is not the regular Nightscene setting in SCN - any ideas?)

Most of the photos came out 100, 400 and 800 iso and I even had a few at 1600. Here are the results:

The full set re-sized, no exif data. Let me know if you want exif data on any of those. The interior bar shots are at 800ISO.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dolnam/...84262998/show/

Two photos with EXIF data. I only re-sized them did not change anything else.
1. i-Nightscene mode with flash:
http://www.flickr.com/...otos/dolnam/4963548755/meta/in/set-72157624767465899

2. SCN - Panning with flash.
http://www.flickr.com/...otos/dolnam/4963581375/meta/in/set-72157624767465899

DolnaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 9, 2010, 8:42 AM   #2