Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 8, 2010, 10:59 AM   #1

Default AVCHD...really?!?

I'm not big on videos, so perhaps that's my disclaimer right upfront...pure ignorance!

With that said, I just started playing with my GH1 video, which records in AVCHD format. Then, like million other people, I realized that hey...this file can not be opened by ANY of the players or photo editor I have on my computer, and that includes Quicktime, WMP, Real player, Winamp, Picasa, and the list goes on and on. So, let's do some quick research on the subject, I thought...QUICK? what a joke...there's more stuff out there covering the subject than on Obama's Health Care program. Video converters...I downloaded at least two - from sites that claimed that they were FREE - only to find out after the installation that I actually had to pay to activate the product...nothing aggravates me more than those gimmicks these people play. Plug-ins...hum maybe two or three but again, they don't work. Updated Picasa because I read somewhere that it could play MTS files...NOT. Then I came across threads and more threads discussing ways to burn a DVD so it can be played on a bluray player (Sony or Panasonic). So, no BR player from these guys? No luck! I can keep going on and on.

The thing is, why should we deal with all this crap from Panasonic (and Sony)? If they create a new (and more efficient) video format, why not provide all the necessary support (players - on the computer, plug-ins, converters, etc.) rather than simply throw it out and let us deal with it? I'm real close from not using this format at all just to save me from the aggravation.

Tullio
Tullio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2010, 12:00 PM   #2

The same happens to me... I only recently had my first video with fz38, and couldn't open it. I will search the camera box, if accidentaly I find any software, but in the mean time, any help is needed!