Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 1, 2011, 3:30 AM   #1

Default Have just bought a FZ38 - Advise please

Hi everyone.

I am new to the forum.

I have bought a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ38, now, i just need to know how to use it properly to get the best out of it.

I really want to concentrate on horses and horse racing photos, and focus on that with my photography.

I am a beginner in terms of cameras, so i probably need to do a lot of reading on ISO, Aperture, etc... so if anyone has any good links, then that would be brilliant, and also the different results (with pictures if possible) that can be achieved by utilising different settings, etc...

Many thanks.
Katchit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2011, 3:46 AM   #2

Take a look at this post, and read mtclimber's instructions. It's the best....
http://forums.steves-digicams.com/pa...g-fz-35-a.html
saly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2011, 3:57 AM   #3

Take a look in the Sports section - there's some advice there on photographing horse-riding.

From my limited experience of shooting my daughter's lessons with an FZ38, it's fine for anything up to a canter in decent light but anything faster than that and you're going to need a bright sunny day to get the shutter speed fast enough. Might be less of a problem for wide-shots but definitely a problem if you're zooming much.

ISO isn't too much of a problem in this situation I think as the texture on the horses hides the noise anyway but keep the aperture as wide as possible to get as much light as possible (f4.4 zoomed or f2.8 wide on the fZ38). What you really need to worry about is getting the shutter speed high so the horses aren't blurred so try the shutter priority mode.

Here's a quick one with the FZ38 of a walking horse at f4.4, 1/30s shutter which is on the slow side - I'd need faster if the horse was moving faster, ISO-400.