Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 10, 2011, 3:27 PM   #1

Default FZ38 - High ISO / Slow shutter speeds in iA mode

Hi everyone,

I have a Panasonic FZ38 since May 2010. Before that i had a TZ-5 which gave me amazing pictures, even at high (10x) zoom. Always sharp, never a problem. 90% of all pics were great.

Th FZ38 is giving me problems though, especially when shooting in iA or P mode. For instance, yesterday I shot some pictures in broad daylighti iA mode. The camera set the aperture at 3.7, shutter speed at 1/60th and ISO at 200. In my view shutter speed should be around 1/250th and ISO at 80 when taking pics in full daylight (it was sunny).

It happens all the time when I use iA or P mode. The only way to get decent pics is to fix the shutter speed in "S" mode. Or I have to set everything in Manual.

I am not a novice to photography, I have read the manual in detail, I even read (and I understand them I think) books on photography. This however is driving me crazy. Has anyone experienced the same with a FZ35/38? Or am I doing something wrong?

I hope anyone in this blog (which is a great blog, far better han anything I've found in The Netherlands) can help out. Thanks in advance,
Niek
Niek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2011, 12:01 AM   #2

What about the results of those settings? Are the photographs any good?
I have the same camera and I consider myself having the same experiance as you, but the only way to have good photographs is to spend at least 5 minits on each photograph with post proccessing (that is 300 photographs X 5 min equals 1500min or about 25 hours post procc after a weekend session...
Before fz38 I had Olympus uz750 with very good results 90 per cent...
kibaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2011, 12:34 AM   #3

Niek

Use manual mode where u can set aperture, shutter speed, ISO, focus etc manually.