Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 22, 2011, 11:22 PM   #1

Default Fz40 Question.

Hi everyone! I just got my fz40 today. So i am a newbie. Can someone please tell me what setting i use to take a portrait picture and have the background blurred??

Thanks!
Tabatha
jerryandtabatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 23, 2011, 1:11 AM   #2

Hi There

If you use the "A" setting (aperture), then you will be able to change this setting to give you the desired blurred background. The lowest number ie f2.8 will give you the burriest background. For further info Sarah Joyce has written a short guide and published it here. She is fantastic, a real mine of info, so hopefully she will contribute to this thread. Unfortunately I am not an expert, but hope this helps in the meantime - Look forward to seeing the shots - Dyane
DyaneG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 2:00 AM   #3

Just don't expect a huge amount of blurred background - the camera has great manual control, but it has a very small sensor (which enables the huge zoom) and that means the aperture is equivalent to a larger aperture on an SLR etc.

You can get a blurred background, but you have to work at it:
- Background a long way behind the subject
- Widest aperture setting (smallest f number)
- Maximum zoom
- Camera close to subject

Some of these things play against each other; if you zoom in and move close to your portrait subject, you'll fill the frame with the tip of their nose! And the more you zoom, the higher the minimum aperture available (which will rule out f/2.8). But the more you experiment, the more it will make sense.

Sony NEX-5, Panasonic fz40
BackyardPermaculture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2011, 4:27 AM   #4