Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Mar 3, 2011, 6:58 PM   #1

Default FZ35 arrived today - might have a dead pixel

I was pleasantly surprised to have the FZ35 show up today. Amazon said it should have been here tomorrow. Anywho, I popped the battery in right after taking it out of the box to see if it had enough charge to play with it for a few minutes. It did so I started playing. It didn't take me long to notice a tiny red dot in the LCD screen. It is noticeable when navigating the black menus, but isn't when viewing the actual screen. The dot appears to be on the left edge of that little white box at the top of the screen that says what megapixel setting it is on. Once the white box shows up it isn't noticeable. Is it a dead pixel? Has anyone here got an FZ35/38 with a dead pixel? If you had a dead pixel would you return it? I'm not sure I would do that just yet, as I don't really want to go through that hassle. It's not affecting the pictures any. Is there anything that can be done to bring a dead pixel back to life? I know sometimes a computer monitor can have a dead pixel brought back, but I'm wondering if it can be done on a camera.

I will post some pictures when I get more accustomed to the settings and there is actually something to take a picture of. Being winter everything is dead and brown with some white thrown in for good measure. I've taken a few test shots, but I'm not even going to waste the bandwidth as they aren't that good.

So far I am loving the camera. The menus are super easy to navigate. Everything seems to be logically laid out. It didn't take long at all (a few minutes) for me to get use to navigating the menus and changing settings. The big issue now is figuring out what those settings do.
JayC_783 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2011, 7:52 PM   #2