Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 7, 2004, 9:24 PM   #1

Default No TIFF or RAW....is it a big deal?

I am a newb...so please forgive any stupid ?'s. I see that the FZ10 does not have this capability, but the C750 does...is this a problem?

jonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 9, 2004, 8:23 AM   #2

Having the tiff capability means being able to save uncompressed images which will be of better quality than compressed Jpegs. They will be far bigger file sizes however, and probably mean you can't take a following picture as quickly as with Jpegs, as they tend to take a longer time to be recorded onto the media card. I personally think that it's a good option to have for those occasions when you might want a picture that delivers the best image possible.
commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2004, 8:37 AM   #3

To elaborate, while uncompressed TIFF still contains some processing. RAW is the "raw data" without any processing. It's often misunderstood since at first site it may be dark or the color balance is way off. However, RAW data can be manipulated in programs like Photoshop much easier.

RAW is not a format the average user will need or use.
Panasonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2004, 10:05 AM   #4

Ya - I was going to start a new thread: "Feature Envy". I just upgraded to Photoshop CS which - of course - after - I take delivery of the FZ10 - has a whole new set of features for handling RAW images from the camera.

I guess I disagree with Panasonic: If I'm willing to spend $600. for a 'prosumer' camera, when I could get - hmmm.. most - of its features for less elsewhere, it would seem a natural addition to the firmware. Especially, since Panasonic knew, or should have, Photoshop has these advanced features that would highly compliment their camera.