Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 18, 2011, 6:51 PM   #1

Default How DOF with ZS7

Hi guys,

I am very new to photography and recently bought the lumix zs7. Can someone help me with the settings/technique i need to use to be able to shoot objects which stand out in the foreground and the background is completely blurred. Been reading and watching tutorials about aperture, etc. but cannot get it on my camera. My aperture is set to F3.3 and trying to take a picture takes details in the whole picture, if I zoom, the F goes up and still nothing happens.
KurtCocain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 19, 2011, 3:06 AM   #2

First off all, don't expect to shallow DOF on that camera. But there are a few things you can do to get the most shallow DOF, those are:

-Set aperture at lowest
-Zoom as much as possible (even if aperture goes up)
-Get as close to your subject as possible
-Put your subject from a large distance of the back ground.

The larger your subject, the more distance you have to create between you and the subject and thus the wider the DOF (which we don't want)

If a subject is small then dof is easyer like for this picture:

But people are large and shallow DOF is harder to get with whole people in the shot. In the next shot the background is a little blurred (I was surprised too). But don't expect a lot more. (I haven't been able to reproduce this kind of shot ><)

Other ways to get a shallow DOF are lenses that have very low f numbers, like 1.8 or 1.4 or even 0.95 and larger focal lengths like 50mm (higher is even better, but than you have to stand a mile from your subject ^^)

Hope that helps a little, otherwise don't hesitate to ask more!

Visit my album on Flickr!
RafalW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2011, 9:53 AM   #3

There are 2 ways of achieving shallow depth of field
1) having smaller f number like f/2, f/1.4
2) having longer focal length (ie longer zoom)