Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jun 18, 2012, 5:42 PM   #1

Default Fz150 video problem

Hi guys, im brand new to the panasonic camera's. Came from a 5 year old Canon A720is, which took decent pics but crap for video.

What attracted me to this one was the great picture quality and video quality.

Right now though im having a problem here. I am taking video with avchd progressive (psh) and on camera it looks great, looks smooth. I plug it into the computer and load it off the camera through the photofun studio that was supplied with the camera. When i go to play the movie on windows media player i run into 2 issues

1) It shows its only 720p
2) the video is not playing back properly, it glitches badly

Now when i open up windows movie maker and save it as a wmv file and save it as a HD 1080, the video plays back perfectly.

I prefer the mts file since it supposed to be a higher quality playback but my WMD does not at all seem to like that file. I have gone and extracted the movie file right from the folder manually and done it through the software. the result is the same.

When i record it as a mp4 file through the camera, it plays it back fine, but you can notice the quality isnt quite as nice.

Sorry for the long winded message, just a bit frustrating i cant seem to figure out why this is acting up..
TORMENTOR08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 18, 2012, 8:30 PM   #2
Administrator

You may want to try VLC and see if it works any better. It's what I use for Media Playback under both Linux and Windows. It's free. Get it here:

http://www.videolan.org/

Note that higher quality 1080p video can be very demanding on PC resources needed for smoother playback. So, you may have to experiment with different players and codecs to find one that works better for you if you don't have a relatively fast PC. But, I'd probably try VLC for starters and see how it works for you.