Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Mar 10, 2013, 12:32 PM   #1

Default GH or FZ200

I recently bought a new laptop and within days it broke so it went back to the shop which, of course insist on sending away for a possible repair, which i do not beleive will happen. I am no laptop expert but since the laptop refuses to even give anything other than a blank screen only i doubt a repair will work.

Given that they will give me a credit note. I don't want the same laptop back but the shop does sell cameras so my question is - given that i have the FZ38 with marcro and long lens - should i go for the FZ200 or the GH and will these cameras take the lenses i already have as opposed to buying more lenses thus keeping the cost down a bit.

I like the 200 but isn't the GH's a DSLR or similar, shows how knowledgable i am i know but prefer to ask here as get the wrong thing.
Thanks for the help in deciding.
E.

Panasonic FZ200 + Panasonic FZ38 + Macro & Tele Kit (DMW-LC55 + DMW-LT55 + DMW-LA5) Canon 60D +18-55mm lens+ 70-300mm lens.
eysha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2013, 10:22 PM   #2

eysha - as you know I use the FZ35, FZ150 and GF1. My husband has a GH1. I consider GH1 and GF1 almost identical in image quality, so I'll speak for both. With the right lens and camera combination, the GF and the GH gives me better quality images than both my FZs. The only problem is, I've spent tons of money buying lenses for the GF! You can get lens adapters that will let you use your older lenses with your GH, but you need to buy a different adapter for each brand of lens you have. So, to date, I have NEVER used one of my old lenses with my GF. Instead, I've spent the last 2+ years saving money to buy new lenses for the it. I have to say I get good IQ, but it's been expensive.

Panasonic FZ150, FZ35 and GF1; Nikonos V when underwater

~~Art is in the eye of the camera holder~~