Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Feb 21, 2004, 1:33 PM   #1
Koz

Default FZ1 Night Photography question

Hey,

I'm debating the purchase of a FZ1 or FZ10. I am aware the FZ10 offers manual control of the camera settings and the FZ1 is fully automated.

My primary use for this camera will be photography of street scenes and cities from high vantage points (hills and lower inner-city mountains). Night time photos will need to pick up street lighting and distant skylines as I shoot from atop mountains or hills. Will the FZ1 do a decent job or will it fail to pick up lighting from office buildings some 5km away (using moderate or full zoom)? Is the FZ10 a better choice for night time photography? I am not a professional photographer and do not mind the automation of the FZ1, but require something that will do a good job at night.

I have decided to go with either of the two as the zoom and stabilization has me sold.

Here's something I hope I can capture with the FZ1. Is this possible, or is the FZ10 the camera for the job? Would anyone be willing to post some night shots with the FZ1 of similar settings, perhaps?

Thanks!
Koz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 24, 2004, 4:18 AM   #2

Forthe FZ1/FZ2 see this post
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...hlight=#103588
For the FZ10 maybe someone else can enlighten you...
Good luck!
Santope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2004, 6:32 AM   #3

The FZ-2 (or FZ-1 upgrades) allows exposures up to 8 sec. with an maximum open aperture of F4.6 (F8 without EV bias), this should be enough for most situations, except photographing stars or moon light photography.
lushlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2004, 9:47 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by lushlife