Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Mar 13, 2004, 9:39 AM   #1

Default Thinking of buying FZ10, have a question (re External Flash)

Hello all!

First off, I just want to say I am very new to the world of photography, so please excuse any ignorance I may display.

Heh, now that that disclaimer is out of the way, on to the newbie question!

I have been researching and debating at length whether I should buy the FZ10 or the Olympus C750uz. I believe I have settled on the Panasonic, and for good reason. I like the image stabilization, the larger LCD, the manual focus ring, and the way it feels in my hand better than the Olympus. Being that my photography knowledge is lacking, I have to go with what I can feel and see, and from the recommendations of others.

One hurdle I have to get over is the compatability of the Panasonic with external flashes. If this hobby takes me where I think it will, I will be investing in accessories in short order, and an external flash looks like one of the first things I would probably get.

Having said all that (making a long story longer), I was wondering how complicated it is to use a flash that doesn't have the type of hotshoe where the camera feeds the flash information (help me with terminology here)? My room mate is highly recommending the Olympus because on his C5050, his flash hotshoe makes the external flash "no hassles", and helps him out alot with setting up the flash to get a good shot each time.

To be more precise, I am trying to figure out what is involved in using a flash that would be compatible with the Panasonic FZ10. Obviously this is more of a photography question than a camera specific question, but it is something that concerns me and affects my upcoming purchase.

I like everything else the FZ10 has to offer, but am pretty impressed with the way my room mates external flash on his Olympus C5050 works.

If I can clarify my question for anyone, let me know.