Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 22, 2004, 5:40 AM   #1

Default crispness in FZ10 photos

let me begin by saying that i am a total amateur. i have had my camera since december and before i had an fz1. i have seen various threads in other forums about the "crispness" or sharpness of fz10 photos. many complain of soft photos. i too have experienced soft photos, more so with my fz10 than with my fz1.
my question is this; does the sharpness feature and the contrast feature on the camera correct this? i have read that to avoid noise it is better to keep them on the low position. i was just wondering if anyone with more experience than myself has noticed any substantial improvement by experimenting with these features.
of course i know about post-op corrections with photoshop, focus magic etc. i still would like to know if it would be better to use the higher sharpness position while taking the shot. (and the contrast and saturation) has anyone experimented with these combinations??

thanks,

andré in lisbon
callas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2004, 10:07 AM   #2

Hi Andre...

You pose an interesting question

If you opt for sharpness (and contrast) at time of photo, then
perhaps you will have less post processing work to do in Photoshop, etc.

You "lose" some of your original photo this way (as opposed
to saving in RAW format - I do not know if Panasonic FZ10
can do this).

You may "gain" some time by not needing to do some post
processing!

Here is an experiment that you could try:

Set sharpness to sharp - Take 2-3 different photos indoors
Then, set sharpness to soft and repeat the photos.

Do the same outdoors.

Consider how they came out and perhaps you will have
an answer to the concern you have posed
digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2004, 10:30 AM   #3