Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 9, 2004, 5:59 PM   #1

I'm new to this stuff. My FZ10 comes w/ a plastic adaptor, but I found this guy in Japan (Yoshida) who is making some nice adaptors. But his sizes are different than the stock (52mm-72mm). He sell a 52-55mm, 52-62mm sizes.

Question is this ... does size make a difference?? I'm likely not going to do too much except for an occasional sports event for my kids and then mostly point and shoot applications the rest of the time. So I may get an UV filter or something simlar to protect the lense.
ninja0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2004, 10:05 PM   #2

ninja0 wrote:
Quote:
Question is this ... does size make a difference?? I'm likely not going to do too much except for an occasional sports event for my kids and then mostly point and shoot applications the rest of the time. So I may get an UV filter or something simlar to protect the lense.

Size really does not matter too much. If the adapter thread size is too small (resp., larger), you will end up using step-up (resp., step-down) rings freqently for filters and converters. It is your choice. Since I have many 62mm accessories (e.g., filters and converters), I choose a 62mm adapter available here http://www.b-300.com/fz10ac.html

CK

http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam

Nikon Coolpix 950/990/995/2500/4500/5700 User Guide

shene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2004, 10:16 PM   #3

ninja0 wrote:
Quote:
I'm new to this stuff. My FZ10 comes w/ a plastic adaptor, but I found this guy in Japan (Yoshida) who is making some nice adaptors. But his sizes are different than the stock (52mm-72mm). He sell a 52-55mm, 52-62mm sizes.

The Yoshida adapters are not really 52-55 & 52-62mm, they are 52mm OR 55mm OR 62mm. You remove the lens hood on your camera and replace it with the Yoshida. You will then be able to attach the corresponding lens/filter to the front of the Yoshida.