Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jun 28, 2004, 7:30 PM   #1

OK I have narrowed my choices down to the FZ10 or the m410r and now I cannot decide which way to go. I am an extremely amateur photographer looking to take some pics of my new daughter/family pics etc. as well as some action shots of skiing/waterskiing/wakeboarding etc. so the burst multiple shot capabilities as well as the zoom lenses of each are appealing.

Here are the main issues I am debating. Any insight/advice as to which direction I should go would be greatly appreciated.

I like the unlimited multishot functionality of the m410R but hate the fact that it doesn't have IS. Does the fact that it shoots so quickly make the IS more of a non-factor?

I like the IS that the FZ10 has, but don't like the fact that the EVF and LCD freeze during the burst/multi-shot function from reviews that I have read. Is this by design... something that panasonic can fix through a firmware update? How limiting is this freezing to current owners of the FZ10?

Also, any word that Panasonic will be updating the Fz10 in the near future?

Thanks in advance for any and all replies

eblom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 28, 2004, 8:10 PM   #2

Eblom,

I can tell you about the FZ-10. The burst mode is nice and the "blackout period" can be reduced but not eliminated by turning off the post-shot review. I suspect it is similar to all EVF's (rather than optical). I'll post some examples based on what you plan to shoot.

1. My son going off a diving board (increased shutter speed to freeze action)

2. My daughter at Navy Pier (high zoom-wish I could get rid of pacifier)

3. My son at Navy Pier (medium zoom)

4. Me on a mogul on an overcast day