Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jul 28, 2004, 11:45 AM   #1

As my user name implies, I am a rookie in the photography world. I bought the FZ10 after waiting years for 4mp and higher cameras to come out with a good lens. I am by no means a photographer, just a dad with lots of kids and a need to shoot lots of pictures without 4 x 6's layin around all over the place.

I bought the FZ10 about 4 months ago and absolutely love it for outdoor sports photography. I learned how to use ASM mode from a pro this past weekend and it really improved my pictures. Iam diligently trying to learn all I can and was very disappointed to read the LCD darkening problem yesterday.I went home last night and played around with the settings and noticed the problem. But, I also noticedif you put the flash up, the LCD brightens up. I took someshots composing with the flash up and then shooting with it down in Aperature priority mode. They did not come out very good at all, but I though it was interesting how the LCD brighten with the flash up.

:idea:Would this work for full manual mode? Set aperature and shutter speed, put flash up (does the LCD brighten?), compose shot, put flash down and shoot? I do not remember if I tried this, but there is always a work around in the computer world, why not in the camera world?

Please pardon the lack of photographic knowledge.
Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 30, 2004, 7:01 PM   #2

The main problem is if that is the work around , that only works for set shots, not for kids running around the room. Plus if you're using an external flash it won't work as described because you can't pop the flash up when the flash is attached. Nice try though. It's good to see someone trying to work around a flaw that would be easier fixed with upgraded firmware.
Dliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2004, 2:59 PM   #3