Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Sep 2, 2004, 11:00 PM   #1

For those who had questions about the detail rendering of the FZ20 on my previous comparisons with Canon 1DS/10D.

As I said in the earlier post, the lighting was extremely difficult. Today I did a re-shoot which shows the same essential shot (Clark's Nutcracker) with the FZ20 and good lighting conditions. Sharpness, Contrast, Saturation high, noise reduction low. Click on link for full sized original uncompressed jpg.

Lin

http://www.lin-evans.com/fz20/nutcracker.jpg

Last edited by Lin Evans; Feb 1, 2015 at 2:54 PM.
Lin Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2004, 11:29 PM   #2

Lin,

Perhaps off-topic a bit, but in reference to your prior thread, could you answer a couple questions for me? First, a little context . . . I am very new to cameras in general; I've had a P&S camera for a year or so. I would like a decent camera for wildlife shots and your elk photos caught my eye. I understand that an entry-level DSLR probably would best fit the bill, but to keep costs down and avoid carrying too much into the field I'd rather stick with a fixed-lens camera. On to my questions:

1. Do you remember how close to (and which side of) sundown you took those elk shots?

2. I know noise will be an issue at some level of darkness with any camera, but in your opinion (or best guess) is the FZ-20 or FZ-10 "as good as it gets" for its price range - or close to it - in terms of high-zoom shots at low light outdoors (excluding DSLRs)?

I bought & returned an FZ-10 last winterafter testing it near dusk, but after several months of reading more about digital camera limitations, it appears that I could wait years before seeing any quantum leaps that would help with my narrow use, and I'll miss a lot of shots in the meantime.

Any thoughts you care to share would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Stan
Stan_870 is offline   Reply With Quote