Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 8, 2004, 11:28 AM   #1

Confusion all around me

I have read quite a few threads on here to make sure that the FZ20 is for me....

I'm now quite sure, but I'm confused about a few things...

1. I definately want to protect the lens with something I can generally leave on the camera.

2. I'd like a fairly sturdy case to protect the camera as much as possible.

3. I may or may not want an additional telephoto lens to attach.

OK, I've read al the posts..... and here comes the confusion.....

It is not clear what thread size of the supplied adapter is, so I can pre-order a filter ( Which type of filter ? ) see Q1.

Is it better to use the Panasonic lenses over the other ( Tcon, raynox etc ) lenses.... I can't find any sample photos comparing the 'official' lenses with the 'other' lenses ( maybe I'm not very good at searching )

Can anyone suggest a good case which will offer the best protection.

I'd like to order all this stuff before I get the camera.

Thanks in advance
dontmailme is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2004, 11:49 AM   #2

I went to ritz camera and got a Quantaray UV Haze filter for $24.99. The size that will fit the adapter that comes with the FZ20 is 72mm. It will protect the lens from damage, dust, and scratching. I keep it on all the time. It will not affect the pictures, and may even improove them in bright sunlight (being a UV filter).

For $3.99, you can get a lens cover for the filter to protect it from scratches.

In addidtion you can get a leash for the filter cover for $1.99, but I prefer to just put it in my pocket as I don't like things dangeling from my camera while trying to maneuver it for shots.

Hope this helps.

bobc
bobc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2004, 12:01 PM   #3

hiya :-)