Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 10, 2004, 8:31 PM   #1

I am a newbie at this digital camera lark and I have just gone out and brought myself a fz-20! all i can say is WOW!

I do need help though, as i have only had it for a few days, not quite sure what i amdoing wrong! When trying to take photosof a moving subject they blur quite easily on the scene 1 sports mode, i then change to 'S' shutter speed andhave triedmanydifferent variations! but when i increase the shutter speed the picture comes out black! I increase the exposure and still nothing really happens!I don't know why this is and how i can overcome this? Ihope somebody can shed some light(excuse the pun) on my problem!

Alice
icualice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2004, 4:35 PM   #2
Administrator

Alice:

This is one of the most common problems a new user has with a camera (blurred photos of moving subjects). It's caused by shutter speeds being too slow.

Here is another post I answered today on the same topic (for a new Nikon Coolpix 5200 user):

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=21

What is bright to the human eye is not to a camera's lens.

The shutter speed a camera can use depends on the amount of light available (which is very low in typical indoor incandescent lighting), the aperture of the lens, and the ISO speed. If you try to use faster shutter speeds when the camera is already using the largest aperture available (which your camera will in lower light), then the photo will be underexposed (as you found out).

Indoors with most models, you'll need to use a flash or a tripod (if shooting a stationary subject). Otherwise, the shutter speeds will be too slow to prevent motion blur from camera shake and/or subject movement.