Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Oct 11, 2004, 5:30 AM   #1

OK, I have run extensive tests, I might have not told the whole truth on these forums, but my name is Eric Reed, how do you do!. I am a graduate of Parsons School of Design, I have a BFA in photography. If you google me you can see the photo contests that I have won, in addition to the many other aspects of my creative life. I don't mean to bash anything. But you have to understand. I bought the FZ-20 and the memory cards and theltz-10 which cost me an additional $425 dollars ( I got it at videodirect.com). I wanted to love the camera, but the truth is that the camera is mediocre, at best. I don't care what anyone else says. I have been in this field for over 20 years, and this camera is at a sub-standard level.

Just so you know, my previous posts led an authorized Panosonic consultant to e-mail me, on a private level. This Panasonic "consultant" revealed the fact that the camera was flawed. They admitted to the fact that the focusing was sub-standard, they basically wanted to shut me up, because I was the closest thing to someone who knew what the heck was going on.

Most of you who just shoot landscapes or nature, will not experience the inherent problems that this camera has, but it has problems, to the extent that Panasonic has made efforts to shut me up. I have now run extensive tests using Olympus and Canon equivalent models, and the FZ-20 fails miserably in comparison. And yes, I know you all want me to post my results, but unfortunately, no one is paying me, and this isn't my field, so I urge all of you to run these tests for yourself, but the FZ-20 has deficient image quality compared to it's competitors.