Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 6, 2004, 11:21 AM   #1

:?I am pretty inexperienced with digital cameras. Recently bought the Lumix DMC-FZ3 and I can't figure out the macro mode. When I have macro mode selected, very hard to get anything in focus. Do I push the focus ring towards wide or toward telephoto? It seems to just be hit or miss. Sometimes it will focus, sometimes it won't. Also, in macro mode, are the shutter speed and aperature preset? Can I adjust them? I'm sorry to have to ask these questions, but the manual does not explain it and I'm a newbie.

Thanks for any help.
backyarder1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 6, 2004, 11:43 AM   #2

All the fz series cameras lose macro capability beyond about 3x zoom. Up to 3x zoom in macro mode (or in A or S priority) you can get as close as 1/2 inch from the subject and obtain focus. So basically the fz3 macro is limited to the lower zoom range. The use of an add-on close-up lens will give you macro capabilty throughout the zoom all the way to 12x. This not only gets a more magnified image but also allows you to put some distance (as much as ~1 ft) between the camera and the subject which will help with bee stings and snake bites as well as with not casting a shadow on the subject. See http://www.ishots.net/fz1-2faq/fz1macros.htm The information there applies to the all the fz series cameras.

Fred
fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2004, 10:41 PM   #3