Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 11, 2004, 5:11 AM   #1

Hi all. I'm a newbie who has just got an FZ3 - thanks for all the advice and comments in this forum - was a strong influence on my decision! Initial impressions are very positive. But I have a question which I would appreciate advice on. On most indoor shots I've tried so far the "jitter" symbol comes on - no matter how steady etc I hold the camera. It seems to occur no matter what setting is being used. "Simple" mode "Program" mode or any of the others. Whether zooming or not. ( This is without the flash being open though and with the stabiliser thing set to always on) However if the flash is popped open the "jitter" symbol seems to then immediately disappear. Could anyone just confirm that this is "normal" and that I havent got a faulty camera? If I just go ahead and take the shots anyway the results look fine to me !! ( though obviously different depending whether flash was used or not) I'm just not exactly sure what/how I should be "reacting " to that "jitter" thingie!! Thanks in advance everyone.
shirleywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 11, 2004, 8:20 AM   #2

Yes... it's completely normal. All FZ's do this. It's just a warning symbol that you might get a blurry image. It's telling you that the meter reads that there is insufficient light, and your shutter speed is too slow (1/30 or a second - a typical shutter speed for indoors). Your shutter stays open longer to let more light in. At this slow of a shutter speed, really what happens is you "can" (though not necessarily) get motion blur - even with the OIS on. Motion blur is not really an out of focus image. It is caused by the subject moving faster than the shutter speed. It can also be (and often is...) caused by simply squeezing the trigger on the camera. Expect to see this warning just about every time when shooting indoors without using a flash