Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 19, 2004, 3:56 PM   #1

I am still learning on there is to know about my new FZ20, but I have come across something odd.

The majority of the pictures I have taken so far are on the "P" setting, and for indoor pictures when I don't have the flash popped up (so it can go off), the pictures blur to the extent as if the still shot were an action pic. I have set the ISO to 80 and 400, and 400 is a bit better, but still not good. So it is as if they will only be clear or even legible if the flash is used.

Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 19, 2004, 4:21 PM   #2
Administrator

Chances are, your primary problem isblur from camera shake versus focus. But, you'll want to make sure you have focus lock on the desired subject when taking your photos, too (half press the shutter button to confirm focus lock before pressing it the rest of the way down to take the photo).

Although your model has a stabilized lens to reduce blur from camera shake, it will have some limits in low light (stabilization usually gives you around a 2 stop advantage).

See my first post in this thread for a discussion of using cameras without a flash indoors:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...amp;forum_id=2

What kind of shutter speeds are you getting, and how much zoom are you using?

Do you have OIS turned on (mode 2 works best by most accounts)?

If you don't have an image editor that can see exposure information, download irfanview from http://www.irfanview.com (it's free). Make sure to download the free plugins, too. You'll see the camera settings (focal length, shutter speed, aperture, etc.) for an image you open under Image, Information, EXIF (and you can copy this information into a post here).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2004, 4:22 PM   #3

Indoors won't be as bright as outdoors so the shutter speed is going to be longer.