Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 20, 2004, 4:22 AM   #1

GREETING TO THE FORUM MEMBERS.
I am wondering if anyone out there has the Panasonic wide angle lens, and if so, How do you like it, etc?
Also, if I put the Phayee set up on my FZ20, can I use the wide angle without removing the Phayee set up? I am brand new to all of this, so appreciate any suggestions, experiences and the like.
Thanks,

Pdaddy
pdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2004, 2:39 PM   #2

pdaddy,

I'm confused by your post.

The subject says "PANASONIC'S TITANIUM EXTREEME WIDE ANGLE ZOOM(140 DEGREE)" yet I know of no such lens nor can I find it on either the Panasonic US or Panasonic Global web site.

If you are referring to an eBay listing (which, in my experience, at first glance misleads the viewer into thinking that the item is an OEM item where, in fact, it is not), all Titanium lenses -- not just the Extreme Wide Angle -- are junk. As the old adage goes, "You get what you pay for".

As to your second question, if you have the Phayee adapter tube (I have the Chen adapter from which the Phayee is copied), you can mount any 62mm lens adapter directly to it (e.g., Olympus TCON-14B, WCON-08B, MCON-35; Canon TL-55; Nikon 5T, 6T). If you also have the 62-55mm thread converter, you can mount any 55mm lens adapter with it (e.g., Olympus TCON-17, WCON-07, MCON-40).

Check out the following websites:

CK Shene's -- http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam/ -- for very useful information on all sorts of FZ10/15/20 accessories (as well as various Nikon models)

David Fong's -- http://www.users.bigpond.com/vkelim/DMCFZ10/ -- Panasonic DMC FZ-10 rough guide

10kzoomfz's -- http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/fz10_...nd_information -- for photo comparisons of the various telephoto adapters

Hope this helps.

Dick

[Edited 2004-11-20 17:35-EST to correct 55mm lens list. Nikon 3T/4T are 52mm not 55mm. My error.]