Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 22, 2004, 9:34 PM   #1

Hi,
Ive heard that the FZ10 can tend to over/under (cant remember) photos by ~1/2 EV (cant remember exact figure) when using 'P' mode. Im no pro and would like some opinions on a couple of my photos in terms of if they are over/under exposed. I think they are ok and never manually adjust the exposure level.
Thanks in advance.
Treemonkey
Attached Images

Treemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2004, 9:34 PM   #2

2nd one
Attached Images

Old Nov 22, 2004, 10:09 PM   #3

Hi treemonkey

i just got my fz 20 a week ago i found that the p mode at times will over expose. I like to under expose a little then brighten them up a little paint shop pro 9has a very good fill flash option.once you blow out the detail its gone for good in my opinion......

look at the petails on this lil guy its way over exposed i didnt worry about it the buds is what i was focusing on in this shot..no way can you turn that around...

Willow

Attached Images

willow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2004, 10:13 PM   #4

Treemonkey,

I'm no pro either so I am going to just make observations not suggestions.
I have found that when I am shooting in P mode (about 90% of the time) That I can get tremendous variation in the exposure depending on where the spot meter is. In your first picture (which by the way looks pretty well exposed except for the center white flower) you have alot of range of color. From very light to fairly dark . I think that you'd find that your exposure through the view finder would jump all over the place depending on where the camera was metering the light. If you do have spot metering on then maybe try the multiple mode to spread the exposure metering over the whole scene.