Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Nov 23, 2004, 11:42 AM   #1

I'm really new to this whole digital camera thing... but one thing's for sure: I want a goodcamera that takes awesome pics and will last through our day to day busy lives here (I'm a mom with 3 kids).

I've been looking at abunch on the market right now: Canon Powershot S1 IS, Canon A85, Kodak DX7590, FinePix S3100, Konica DiMage Z2.... the list goes on and on. But from what I'm gathering - through my amateur logical thinking fog - the Panasonic FZ3 (with all it's wonderful internal mechanisms) seems to be that of a "lower-end Mercedes" vs all the others I mentioned (which seem to be like "souped-up Hondas"). Maybe that's an inaccurate analogy, but that's what it seems like from all the bits of info I've gathered here and there.

Our needs are pretty simple: great pics INDOOR and out (esp indoor), good focus, easy to use, not too heavy, not too tiny... but again, the end result is what matters most: clear, detailed pics that will be used on-line, in photo albums but nothing larger than an 8x10.

I looked at the FZ1 - but like the newer options on the FZ3 - and the FZ15/20 are overkill for our needs (not to mention a bit heavy).

So, my question to all you FZ connosiuers (sp).... what makes these FZ cameras better than the "other guys"? Especially the ones mentioned above? Is it really all about that Leica lense?

Thanks for sharing any thoughts... :-)

Maryanne
maryanne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2004, 2:56 PM   #2

Everything about the Leica Lens is true.

I guess the Leica glass is the main responsible of the sharp and detailed Panasonic FZs images.

Regarding to the other brands and models, I only like the Canon A85 and S1

Idiscard the A85 because it belongs to another category - short zoom.