Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 7, 2004, 7:27 PM   #1

I'm thinking about getting an FZ20 + the Nikon 5T + 6T.
I have a few Q's, namely how the closeup lenses affect
(a) the depth of field
(b) effective lens focal length
(c) f-stop
at the various zoom settings

I have a little bit of optics background but not much & just know that diopters add reciprocally (e.g. if the FZ20 focuses at a point 0.5meter away == +2 diopters, and you add the 6T lens which is +3 diopters, then your total diopter is +5 == 0.2 meter away... at least I think that's how it works) -- but the other stuff is beyond me. Does it depend on how long the adapter is (e.g. short tube vs. long tube), and if so, how do you figure that stuff out??? The Lens FAQ (http://www.photo.net/photo/optics/lensFAQ.html ) has some guidance but doesn't deal with diopters at all. I'm an engineer so don't be afraid to post complicated equations.

Alternatively maybe those of you with FZ20 macro experience could tell me how close you can focus with the 6T / 5T / both, and what the depth-of-field tradeoffs are....
arghman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 7, 2004, 8:11 PM   #2

well i am in the same boat you are in...whem i comes to the tech end of it i am not much help..i just picked up a nikon 6T but iam not sure how the get the most out of it "yet"I have seen where people are zooming 12x and being kinda close to the object there shooting...but when i try it my fz20 will not [email protected] 12x unless i back off 2 feet...how these guys are getting macros of a"fly's eye"is beyond me..i you find out please tell me..for its really "bugging" me no "pun" intended....

btw...mzmacro is the "macro king" look for ANY thing he might post or comment on..he is the man. :G

i can say this for the fz20 its a great camera...good luck.

Willow

willow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2004, 9:13 PM   #3