Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 8, 2004, 9:42 PM   #1

I recently purchased the Sunpak 383 for use with my FZ20. I was curious what other owners of this combination have been using as their settings on the flash. What F-stop on auto? Auto or manual? I am not familiar with the usage of external flashes so I am learning on the fly. Any tips would also be appreciated.

Thanks,

Keenan :-)
Keenan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 8, 2004, 10:38 PM   #2

I have the Quantaray Q383 Super. It's exactly the same flash as the Sunpak 383.

If you set your camera to preset for the external flash, your camera's aperture will be locked at f2.8, and the shutter speed will be limited to 1/60 to 1/250 of a second.

If you set your camera to manual for the external flash, the camera aperture and shutter speed will operate normally.

I am not an expert, but going by the instructions that came with the flash, and the section in the camera manual on using an external flash, you should get a basic idea of the settings. I just mess around with different settings and bouncing the flash.

It's really fun to play around with.

I'll try and give you an example...

Camera & flash: in manual.

Camera & flash: ISO set to 100.

Flash: power ratio control set to 1/16.

Flash: look at your f/stop scale.

Camera: set aperture in accourdance with the distance to the subject.

f8.0 - 4 feet

f5.6 - 5 1/2 feet

f4.0 - 8 feet

f2.8 - 11 feet

If using A mode let the camera select the shutter speed.

If in M mode tweek the shutter speed until you get the result you want.

You may have to play around with the white balance... IE... auto, flash, or even set it manually.

Hope this helps. Like I said... I'm no expert.

bobc
Attached Images

bobc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2004, 11:10 PM   #3