Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Dec 28, 2004, 9:31 AM   #1

Using a FZ20 & 5T lens, I am trying to figure out how far I can be from my subject using 12X zoom and still be able to focus clearly. The closest I can be to my subjects is about 2 feet. Will this lens allow me to focus at this distance? I have never used a close-up lens before so I am wondering, if you zoom out a little, will this allow you to stay back more from your subject or are you pretty much stuck to a set distance from your subject no matter how much you zoom in or out?

I will be shooting most of my pictures from around 2 feet away. Will the 5T work for me? I can't really get coser to my subject because I am taking pictures of corals in a reef tank and I stuck behind the glass Thank you!

P.S. Any other suggestions for taking close-up shots in a reef tank with an FZ20 would be greatly appreciated.
reefrelated is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2004, 11:40 AM   #2

I'd say there is a pretty good chancethe 5t will focus from around 2ft away.I dont have the 5t but I do have +1 and + 2 diopter closeup lens which focus at about 32" and 20", respectively, at full zoom with my fz1. (Similar results would occur with the fz20.) The 5t - being +1.5 diopter - would probably focus at about 26" and capture about 6cm or so on the horizontal;perhaps more.

With my fz1 stacked with a dcr250 +8 diopter lens and c210 1.9x and tcon17 1.7x teles I can focus from about 26" away on a 3.5cm horizontal at full 12x zoom. Here is the setupand a shot at full zoom.

Olympus tcon17 + Oly c210 + Raynox dcr250 + FZ1

From 26" away at full 12x zoom

Fred
fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2004, 12:43 PM   #3