Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 5, 2005, 12:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
bmullen@comcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,435
Default

I was really pleased with the detail the camera showed of this bird.

ExposureTime1/80
FNumber4.0
ISOSpeedRatings80 white bal sunny no flash Spot focus Spot meter
Pictur cropped and some twigs taken out of water with clone tool




Attached Images
 
bmullen@comcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2005, 12:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
squirl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,720
Default

yeah, FZ'z are definitely good for shooting ducks! :G
Attached Images
 
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
willow1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,131
Default

nice shots squirl!!!!!!!!

if you dont mind me asking what setup was you using shutter speed, exposure,light metering, wb, did you use a flash?


very nice indeed

Willow

willow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:09 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
squirl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,720
Default

that one was actually one of my first shots with the FZ20. it was taken in program mode, so i can't tell you what the shutter or aperture settings were, but i was at about 10x zoom. the ducks were on a log about 25-30 feet offshore, and i was on a raised causeway along the water's edge. kind of a gray, overcast day, hence the flat, gray tone to the water and the lack of shadows. no flash, though...

here's another one i took a week or so ago, same day i shot that seagull. same park, for that matter! this li'l fella was begging for bread crumbs or something, and for a minute there, i thought he was gonna huck up a hairball! :lol: he was pretty close in front of me, only about 8 feet away, so i didn't need much zoom...
Attached Images
 
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:28 AM   #5
Member
 
BoaRd bRYce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 58
Default

squirl033 wrote:
Quote:
...it was taken in program mode, so i can't tell you what the shutter or aperture settings were...
Actually you can. I am interested to know what your settings were as well. If you still have the image on your SD card go into play mode and go though the different display modes until it shows you the histogram. On the left side of the screen it will show you a red boxed "P", because of the mode the shot was taken in, and next to that it will show you the apature and shutter speed. The ISO and flash mode are shown under the histogram.
BoaRd bRYce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 1:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
squirl033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,720
Default

unfortunately, i downloaded the image to my hard drive and cleared my memory card... sorry! but i'll remember that tip for next time...
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 2:03 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
willow1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,131
Default

squirl and bryce..... thanks for the tip as well... now that u explained it ..I remember seeing it "lol" when i first got my cam and was looking at every thing :G

well and u too comcast i just seen you had revised and addedyour setting thx



willow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 5:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 50
Default

squirl033 wrote:
Quote:
unfortunately, i downloaded the image to my hard drive and cleared my memory card... sorry! but i'll remember that tip for next time...
There are small utilities available that can help in finding out some of the camera settings used when a given picture was taken. For instance, the one here:

http://www.takenet.or.jp/~ryuuji/min...fread/english/

Or the one here:

http://home.pacbell.net/michal_k/

Tenshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 8:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
bmullen@comcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,435
Default

If you open the pic with windows xp picture and fax viewer, right mouse click, c lick properties, then summary, and then somtimes advance, you shoud find much exif info listed.
bmullen@comcast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2005, 7:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 35
Default

willow1 wrote:
Quote:
nice shots squirl!!!!!!!!

if you dont mind me asking what setup was you using shutter speed, exposure,light metering, wb, did you use a flash?


very nice indeed

Willow


Willow

If you use IE 5.0 or greater, you might be interested in this EXIF plug in. It's a free download. Once installed, close IE and re-open it. Then you can right click on any photo and get it's EXIF skinny. You can even customize the EXIF data that you want to see.

Let us know how you make out. I find it very handy.

Have a great day

http://ak.no-ip.com/EXIF/

LarryB

Larry Bradford is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.