Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 6, 2005, 10:23 AM   #1

Hi, I've never used an external flash before, and I'm pretty new to photography in general, so I was hoping I could get some good advice here. I'm stuck basically between the Sunpak 383 and the Phoenix D92-BZS (although I'm open to other suggestions if there are better choices in the same price range). Since I haven't had much experience with flash, I'm not sure what I would be using it for, although I think bouncing light for nice people pictures will be the main use. The soft lighting effect is just good in general, since harsh shadows from the built-in flash is usually pretty distracting.

This will be used on an FZ20. Thanks...
plenTpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2005, 1:34 PM   #2

plenTpak wrote:
Quote:
Hi, I've never used an external flash before, and I'm pretty new to photography in general, so I was hoping I could get some good advice here. I'm stuck basically between the Sunpak 383 and the Phoenix D92-BZS (although I'm open to other suggestions if there are better choices in the same price range).

This will be used on an FZ20. Thanks...
Hi plenTpak,

I've been looking at the exact same flash units for my FZ15. When I made the decision to buy the FZ15, I was thinking, "Ha! I'll outsmart myself...I'll buy the model that doesn't even have a shoe for a flash, so I won't be tempted to buy one of those expensive external units! I'm gonna keep it simple ! One less megapixel, no shoe, no sound recording on mpegs, $85 less...SIMPLE! Yeah, right....:roll: