Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 14, 2005, 4:23 PM   #1

I'm trying to get some good shots at an ice rink, keeping in mind that I'm just beginning to attempt anything beyond point & shoot. My thinking was to not get blurred motion in my shot I needed to increase my shutter speed. So I set my cam on shutter priority but the best I could get before the picture got way too dark was 1/50. As you can see, it is still blurred. Am I going about this all wrong? (the rest of the settings were - ISO 100, f 2.8, zoomed to about 6x.

Sorry about the netting in front but the only place in the rink where there is no netting is the filming platform and to do that during a practice would mortify my son.
Attached Images

DianeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2005, 4:43 PM   #2

DianeR wrote:
Quote:
I'm trying to get some good shots at an ice rink, keeping in mind that I'm just beginning to attempt anything beyond point & shoot. My thinking was to not get blurred motion in my shot I needed to increase my shutter speed. So I set my cam on shutter priority but the best I could get before the picture got way too dark was 1/50. As you can see, it is still blurred. Am I going about this all wrong? (the rest of the settings were - ISO 100, f 2.8, zoomed to about 6x.

Sorry about the netting in front but the only place in the rink where there is no netting is the filming platform and to do that during a practice would mortify my son.
Not a good shot

not in focus

1/50 TOO slow for action

f4 to smalll

you got it all wrong

for indoors and action its a big ask...

A priority fine

do this

set AP to f2.8 (max light)
set ASA speed to 200 or 400
you will then with above force a shutter speed to probably 1/125 or a more this will freeze action.

OR

set mode dial to action
set FZ3 to AE NOT priority
set ASA to 400

try again

boyzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2005, 6:50 PM   #3