Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 15, 2005, 7:46 AM   #1
dlw

I gave my Kodak digital camera to my daughter and purchased a new FZ20. I've become very frustrated with it because all of my indoor pictures of people have a reddish hue on skin. I never experienced this with the Kodak and am almost on the verge of selling the Panasonic and buying a Kodak 7590, but would much rather find out what I'm doing wrong with the "pink skin" thing. I'm a real novice and have been trying to use the automatic "P" dial setting for the most part, but have fiddled with white balance, etc to no avail. Is there something wrong with my camera or am I missing something?

Signed, Frustrated in the Midwest!
dlw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2005, 8:32 AM   #2

Dlw, maybe you could post one of the photos with the pink hue! I am new here on
this forum and also not very good with my FZ20 yet, but I will take a stab at your
question. Do you have your "Color Effect" set to Warm? If so, try setting it to "Off"
and see if that helps!

Pockit

Pockit Foto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 8:37 AM   #3
dlw

Thanks for the reply!. The color effects are off. Still playing with other settings, trying to get it right.
Old Jan 15, 2005, 8:53 AM   #4

Are you going to post a sample?

bobc
bobc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 8:56 AM   #5

Just post it!!!!! (kidding hehe)
Kenny_Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 9:11 AM   #6

I always get the best colors using manual (shutter priority or M) and a lowest flash setting. (depends on the scene). I set the shutterspeed to 1/6 and flash on. This way the picture gets the subject (person) sharp with the flash, and fills out the picture with nice colors trough the 1/6 (or 1/10) shutterspeed.
TimvdVelde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2005, 9:12 AM   #7
dlw