Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 15, 2005, 8:49 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I am new to digital photography. I just got my new FZ 3 in the mail this week and there is snow on the ground so I haven't been out taking more than a few photo's here and there. I have also taken a few indoors and they seem fine.

My question is this. I am going on vacation to New Zealand in a couple of months and want to take the best photo's I can take. I won't have a device with me to look over photo's in any detail (only the camera's LCD and that only tells you so much) until I get back after 2 and 1/2 weeks. I plan on taking a 1 gig memory card and another 512 mg card with extra battery.

I have read the manual and fooled around with different settings and even used "neat image" software to reduce noise. What I would like to know from experienced users is on sunny to moderately cloudy days; is the auto mode (P) generally the mode that will give me best results for scenic shots or at least as good as manual results? I know that if I want everything in the photo to be sharp (no matter the distances between them) that I need to use a higher aperature. I know that if there is too much light or not enough light then generally speaking one should go to a manual mode for apurature and shutter speed as well as ISO control.

I imagine that my lens hood is good on very sunny days.

After reading these posts and looking at photo galleries online, I feel that I am cheating or lazy if I am notbeing more creative byusing manual control for the best photo's.

Thanks in advance.

greyguy

greyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 15, 2005, 10:23 PM   #2