Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 18, 2005, 7:02 PM   #1

im a complete noob to photography and i recently recieved the FZ-20 for my birthday.. i saw some pictures on deviantart that used polarizer filters and i was wondering if this kit i found (link below) is a good deal and if its a good filter... will i need to purchase anything else other than this if i choose to buy it? also does it act as a UV filter also? or can you recommend a good UV filter and Polarizer? sorry to be such a noob.. this looks like a awesome forum

http://www.bugeyedigital.com/product...ay-plpp20.html
pixie0fd00m is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 18, 2005, 7:42 PM   #2

Can't answer your first and main question but as far as UV and polarizing filters go then read the first entry on this forum. It's long but covers 99.9% of what the collective knowledge of this group can come up with. After reading this then many of those with experience will be able and willing to respond to specifics.

Hope this helps.

Ian
Ian48Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 8:15 PM   #3

ok, thank you
Old Jan 18, 2005, 10:50 PM   #4

This is the well regarded raynox rt5264p adapter ($16 alone at bugeye) with a couple of filters and a lens cap and as such is a pretty good deal. Many fz20 owners use it. The mc filter would take the place of a uv filter for lens protection - keep it and the adapter on at all times. The rt5264p will accept other 52mm add-on lens. A couple of reasonably priced good ones are the olympus c210 1.9x teleconverter which will effectively double the zoom (1.9x12=22.8) - $40 at olympus emporium special offers - and the nikon 4t close-up lens - $37 at b&hphoto which will give you macro capability throughout the 12x zoom. See http://www.ishots.net/fz1-2faq/fz1macros.htmfor info on fz series macro capability.

Fred
fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2005, 12:38 AM   #5