Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 27, 2005, 2:37 PM   #1

actually i haven't printed enough pics to notice the noise yet but i've been reading that at maybe 100 or at least 200 and above speed, the noise may be an issue for at least the larger 8 1/2 x 11 print. So far i have only done 4x6 and i have not noticed any noise.

some have suggested the ccd is not large enough for the 5 mp to deal with this issue. i am not a pro so i am not certain how big an issue it will be to me but my question is that if i step the camera down to the 3mp size, would that make any difference in the noise, if any, in the 8 1/2 x 11 prints? my other camera, which is the first, is a kodak dc 290 and for its day it was a fairly sofisticated camera at 2.1 mp. i was able to set the camera to effect 3.1 mp and the small and large 8 1/2 x 11 prints were great. i didn't notice any noise...amatuer that i am. i have read that the fz15 at 4 mp has less but i do not know. any feed back regarding your conclusions or suggestions will be appreciated.
Prof.Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2005, 3:09 PM   #2

:arrow:http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/s...p;q=fz20+noise
nooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2005, 4:07 PM   #3

thanks for the link nooner. i have been overwhelmed with great information related to my post and i continue to be happy with my decision to purchase the fz20...just need to practice more under a variety of settings and environments. thanks again.
Old Jan 27, 2005, 4:10 PM   #4

The FZ-20 has "slightly" higher noise than other cameras. Claims that it is a noisey camera are overstated, as the graph below from Imaging-Resource illustrates. http://www.imaging-resource.com Panasonic did a good job boosting megapixels while keeping the noise acceptable at higher isos.

Attached Images

NickTrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2005, 10:47 PM   #5