Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Jan 29, 2005, 3:38 PM   #1

Hi all. I just received my FZ-20 yesterday and I'm in love already. Tonight I'm going to a couple of Mardi Gras parades here in Mobile and I thought I'd take the camera along and try it out but I'm a total newbie with digital photography. Does anyone have any tips they care to share with me in order to get the best out of this camera in such an environment? Thanks very much in advance.
beernutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2005, 3:48 PM   #2

This is a tough one. Here's the best piece of advice I can give. Digital is not film. Shoot a ton of pictures. Experiment with a range of settings and pre-settings. Don't become discouraged if your results aren't there on any particular shot, and become discouraged and stop taking pictures. Resign yourself to a high "spoilage" rate, and shoot, shoot, shoot. At the end of the night, your efforts will pay off, and you will have several keepers, and possibly a few gems. I say this because your shooting conditions will vary greatly, too much so for general advise other than the obvious. More often, after a few taking a few shots, people give up on it, and lug their camera around without taking pics. I'm guilty of same. If you do that you miss out on some great shots, and should do just the opposite... shoot even more.
NickTrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2005, 4:01 PM   #3

NickTrop wrote:
Quote: