Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 22, 2005, 2:17 PM   #1

I guess this is really two questions.

Am I right to assume that aftermarket FZ3 lens and filter kits will also work on FZ5's?

Are the inexpensive kits that you see on Ebay any good, or is it better to spend a little more and get a name brand?

Ebay has a $99 kit with wide angle, telephoto, and 3 filters here; http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
trooplewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2005, 3:07 PM   #2

It sounds kinda cheap for two "super quality" as they say lenses and 3 filters. But I'm not an expert so I don't really know. But I've never belived in something like this: retail price 399 but we sell two of them for 99. besides 3 good quality filtes costs 99$. I would byu it only if I could try them before and see if they are really as good as they say, but I doubt it.
gfurm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2005, 3:24 PM   #3

trooplewis wrote:
Quote:
Am I right to assume that aftermarket FZ3 lens and filter kits will also work on FZ5's?

Are the inexpensive kits that you see on Ebay any good, or is it better to spend a little more and get a name brand?
Yes to the first question.

This stuff is probably junk or close to it. If the example photos are accurate (which is highly unlikely), the tele and wa are among the best. In the case of the wa, it is nothing short of a miracle! Thier stated retun policy suggests that you can get a full refund (or a least 85%). If that's true, you would incur shipping costs only (~$15). If you do decide to get this set, please let us know how it does.
fmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2005, 3:35 PM   #4

The WA is a fisheye, which I am not very excited about. The company that is selling them has been around for quite awhile on Ebay. They brag a lot that their lenses are Japanese, not made in China.... Still, for $99. it might be worth a try.