Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 24, 2005, 11:20 AM   #1

Can anyone tell me why the colors look too washed out and unnatural looking in this photo. I can't seem to get any good flower shots. All of them look unnatural. This one was shot at vivid but I have also tried natural.
Attached Images

backyarder1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2005, 11:49 AM   #2

I'm no expert, but I can think of two potential problems that might cause a washed out look.

1) It could be overexposed. Check your EV. You may have inadvertently upped it a notch or two. If not, try a negative value. Start with -0.3 and go down from there if necessary. Or you can autobracket and see what happens. Check your histogram after shooting, or even better, before and adjust as necessary.

2) Check your white balance. Use auto white balance or sunny or cloudy, depending on conditions. Usually auto works well and then you don't have to worry about it.

It's probably #1 though. Maybe some of the more experienced photographers will respond. In the meantime, check out this article from the Luminous Landscape site on histograms:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tu...stograms.shtml

pggunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 12:22 PM   #3

hmm. maybe time for new glasses, but I don't think this looks washed out at all! I think this is a pretty darn good flower shot.

Anyone else? Perhaps it's just your monitor needs calibration orreplacement backywarder1.
suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 12:24 PM   #4

backyarder1 wrote:
Quote:
Can anyone tell me why the colors look too washed out and unnatural looking in this photo. I can't seem to get any good flower shots. All of them look unnatural. This one was shot at vivid but I have also tried natural.