Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old Apr 24, 2005, 10:32 PM   #1

Hi folks,

This is my first post here. After reading a lot on the net, I finally ordered an FZ20. I wonder which SD card would be a good match for this camera. I guess 512 MB or 1 GB is what I want for size. Do you think a SanDisk Extreme III card (20MB/sec; 133X) would be good or maybe overkill?

Any advice/hints welcome! I'm totally new to digital camera's.
Purry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 24, 2005, 11:03 PM   #2

The piece of advice I have to offer is think smaller. The FZ20 has a neat feature where if you wake it up while pressing the zoom switch you can avoid it zooming out to 1x and be ready to shoot at 12x right away. Due to unclear reasons this feature is lost with larger capacity cards. This has been a previous topic of discussion here.

I have a 1gb card and am thinking of getting either a 256 or 512 just to restore this feature - it is nice for action shots (kids or animals in motion). A 256 card will capture a lot of high rez jpegs anyway.

I would stick to the higher speed cards to reduce the recycle time between exposures.
pschooley1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2005, 1:04 AM   #3

512 is a good size for the FZ20. i have 2 that size, and one 256MB that i keep as a backup. no need to spend the $$ for the 133x card... anything over 60x is plenty fast. my primary card is a Kingmax "platinum" that'srated at65x, and it's plenty fast. it's also only about $42 at newegg.com http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820155257