Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 9, 2005, 3:05 PM   #1

As a total newbie would appreciate some advice re getting clear sports action shots.The attached was my daughter in a high jump competition. I was approx 30 metres away from the action. Used program mode with the H multi shot setting. I seem to have got the focus on the shrubs/trees which were 100+ metres on the far side of the track - with my daughter slightly out of focus?! Would the best thing have been to use manual focus, get the "bar"/jump area in focus ( holding down the shutter release - then press fully when she comes into shot?? Or is there a better way to "lock" the focus at a particular distance in advance - then simply take shots when the action is on.? Soryy to sound so stupid- I've looked in the manual and also browsed forums - but am a little confused with all the aperture/shutter speed details - but very keen to learn from those more knowledgeable than myself! ( Not difficult!) Thanks all.
Attached Images

shirleywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2005, 3:26 PM   #2

You could focus on the big blue mat and while keeping the shutter halfway depressed move your compositon up to the bar area. If you can find something or someone the same distance from the jump area to you, you can manually focus at that distance and then shoot away when the time comes. Another thing to try might be to change your iso setting to 200 to get faster shutter speeds. On bright days, the noise isn't too bad and the faster shutter speeds will help you freeze the action better. Also, you might want to use aperture prioity mode, A, and set it to 2.8. This will give you the fastest shutter speeds possible for the conditions. Using the High speed continuous mode like you did is a good idea for this situation.

Anothertip to avoid over exposure is to set the exposure compensation to -1/3.

BTW - what camera are you using?