Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 14, 2005, 8:25 PM   #1

I've had my FZ 20 for a few weeks now. To prepare for a trip to the amusement park today, I wanted to empty my 2) 256 MB Cards. With the camera connected to my pc with the usb cable, I used Windows Explore which viewed the camera as a D drive. I selected the pictures from the camera and copied them to a hard drive folder. Then I selected the pictures in the camera and deleted them. Now the camera shows the card as having no stored images, but there is very little available memory. I was only able to put 40 new pictures on one card and 8 on the other.

As you can probably tell, I'm very new to digital photography and could use some advise. Any ideas why the cards are like this? Can they be reformatted, wiped clean? What should I do differently?

Any advise would be appreciated.
RobPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 14, 2005, 11:20 PM   #2

If you can see the card as a drive in Windows Explorer, you will see that it has 2 directories, DCIM and MISC. Right click on each and then left click on Delete, and *poof* the card will be as clean as the day it was born.

The camera will reformat the card as soon as you turn it back on with the card installed.
trooplewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 1:06 AM   #3

It seems to be better to delete images with the camera. I usally just format the card in the camera after each image download. 2cents
nooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 1:22 AM   #4

I deleted the folders on both cards. The camera still recognized them as having little room for pictures. When I rechecked them in Explore, they showed 2 empty folders, but the properties for the drive showed most of the capacity as being used, with little free space.