Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 15, 2005, 4:47 PM   #1

I've tried taking a few waterfall pictures with my FZ3 on two different days now and something's not right. In full manual mode, I'm trying an F-value of 8 with 1/4 shutter speed. The photos are coming back completely washed out. I even tried setting the EV to -2 and got the same thing. The first time I tried this was on a very cloudy day. Someone told me that I'd have better luck at it on a sunny day (and everything I've read about waterfall photography says about how hard it is to get enough light into the picture). That didn't make any sense to me, but since I'm new to all this, I thought I'd try it today when it was bright and sunny...with no luck.

Before (in P mode, F: 5.6, Exposure Time: .0025)

Attached Images

jrh312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2005, 4:50 PM   #2

After: (M mode, F: 8.0, Exposure Time, .16667)

How can I fix this? This example isn't even a waterfall, and it wasn't that bright to begin with.... It's also not one of the ones I switched the EV to -2 for...but they came out just as badly.
Attached Images

Old May 15, 2005, 5:30 PM   #3

i know what you mean , try setting on fully auto and see what the camera thinks about distance and lighting use that as a reference and fine tune it from there taking different shots above or below the cams recomendations .This one is in auto on extremely bright day
pappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 5:31 PM   #4
Mag

Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2005, 5:39 PM   #5

There seems to be a disconnect in what you are saying. You are talking about working in full manual mode and yet also saying you are setting theEV to -2. EV doesn't work with full manual mode since it is basically an over-ride for the programmed modes, telling the camera to over or under-expose.