Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Panasonic / Leica

Old May 20, 2005, 10:19 AM   #1

I have been researching a few cameras over the past couple of months. I've narrowed it down to the KM A200, Olympus 8080, Canon Pro1, and the Panasonic FZ20. I currently own an old Canon Rebel and like to take artistic shots with shallow DOF. Are any of these cameras better than the other in this respect? Are there any other fixed lens cameras I should be looking at? The shallow DOF is fairly important to me, I just need to figure out how much I will be loosing with a non-SLR. I am not really up to speed on what the limitations of these camera's are compared to a SLR. Any information you can give will be helpful and much appreciated. Thank you.

Jacob
jpdigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 20, 2005, 12:31 PM   #2

Now this is a toughie to answer - I'm no expert but I'll take a stab at this anyway. All the camera's that you list are good digicams the Oly 8080 and the FZ20 the best of the bunch but they are all also designed for very different needs. The FZ's are perfect if you want a really nice, fast 12x zoom lens and tack sharp pict's to boot. The Oly on the other hand also has a really nice fast wide angle to 5x zoom lens and an 8MP 2/3 CCD - according to nearly all of the review site's it is the best 8MP digicam out there. If shallow depth of field is the priority then you'd have to consider a DSLR - the current sensor size (2/3, 1/1.7", 1/2.5") in the digicams mean that they all a high DOF. It doesn;t mean you can;t get a shallow DOF with any of the cams you listed but it will be harder to do.

There's been previous threads on this which I'll try to dig out. NickT, Fmoore, Treemonkey and Co are the guys that can help.

I would check the following website as well - it has a really good info on photography and several discussions/papers on dof and digicams:

http://luminous-landscape.com/

Harj